Politics & Religion

By Michael Gilbert

February 11, 2007

Hear this, I pray you, ye heads of the house of Jacob, and princes of the house of Israel…Zion for your sake shall be plowed as a field and Jerusalem shall become heaps…” (Micah 3:9-12)

If I had lived in Micah’s day, I would have told him. I couldn’t let him ruin his influence as a preacher. So, when I finally got up the nerve, I would have said, “Oh, Micah! How could you? Don’t you know that you can’t mix politics and religion? You ought to preach the Bible only and leave the politicians alone. Mixing politics and religion makes more enemies than friends. As your friend, Micah, I must tell you that you can’t change society…and that’s a fact! I know you are passionate, but as you get more wisdom, you will calm down. You can’t change the world!”

Of course, Micah was hard-headed and would not have listened. I would have tried to warn him, after all, I like preachers. But, preachers today make the same mistake.

Why do they always try to get involved in politics? Don’t they understand that people won’t listen when preachers mix politics and religion? Why are they always talking against political issues like same-sex marriage, abortion, human cloning, and embryonic stem-cell research?

I think I know the problem. Too many preachers are reading from Micah’s book. If we could just get them to stop reading Micah 3, especially verses 9-12…maybe they would stop mixing politics and religion.

(Just in case you didn’t catch the satirical nature of this article, I want you to know that I would never really suggest or promote the idea that preachers shouldn’t address items of a political nature such as abortion. Neither would I promote the terrible idea of preachers overlooking any Bible book.)

 

About dekalbcoc

Local preacher for the DeKalb Church of Christ
This entry was posted in Highlights from Highlighted Passages, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

