God’s Good Gifts

“Do not err, my beloved brethren. Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning”

 

(James 1:16-17)

Three things comes to mind when I think of God’s good gifts: Calvary’s cross, caring Christians, and the coming Christ.

On Calvary’s cross hung the Son of God. He represents the grace of God. I did not deserve that gift, neither can I earn that gift, but, “…God, who is rich in mercy, because of his great love wherewith He loved us, even when we were dead in sins, hath quickened us together with Christ (by grace ye are saved), and hath raised us up together and made us sit together in heavenly places in Christ Jesus.” (Eph. 2:4-6).

Caring Christians always lift my sometimes discouraged soul. Every time I sink into the miry pit of despair because “the world is just so evil”, God sends caring Christians my way. He allows me to see the faith of His people in action. Sometimes my phone rings and someone asks about my family. Other times, I overhear two Christians talking about helping a fellow Christian. Good news of good deeds has also come my way via second hand information. Whatever the case, when I need a spiritual boost, God always sends a caring Christian my way.

Finally, the coming Christ will one day carry me away from this sinful world. I may be young, but even so, come, Lord Jesus (1 Cor. 16:22)!

About dekalbcoc

Local preacher for the DeKalb Church of Christ
This entry was posted in Highlights from Highlighted Passages, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

