Why Should I Serve God?

10-7-07

by Michael Gilbert

Why should I serve God?

This is a very personal question with an answer that has very public consequences.

Whether I decide to serve God or not, my decision will effect the lives of an untold number of individuals. The following things are just some reasons, among many, for serving our Creator.

To show my love for my Savior who died for me (Jn. 3:16; Jn. 14:15). My words cannot begin to describe the adoration that should be shown to Jesus for dying on the cross for me. “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life” (Jn. 3:16). If I am grateful for this wonderful gift, then I will do what He says in His word. “If ye love me, keep my commandments” (Jn. 14:15).

My family is depending on me (I Cor. 7:16). Paul wrote, “For what knowest thou, O wife, whether thou shalt save thy husband? or how knowest thou, O man, whether thou shalt save thy wife” (I Cor. 7:16). Most, if not all, of us have family members who are not Christians. How do we know that they are not on the verge of obeying the Gospel because of our influence? We have a great influence on others, especially our family.

My friends depend on me (Mark 5:19). After casting a demon out of the man from the country of the Gadarenes, Jesus told him, “Go home to thy friends, and tell them how great things the Lord hath done for thee, and hath had compassion on thee” (Mark 5:19). We might be the only Christian our friends ever come in contact with. Would it not be a shame if we never did as Jesus told this man to do? We must talk to our friends about what Christ has done for us.

The church is depending on me (Rom. 16:3-5). What if Priscilla and Aquila had never taken such an interest in the church of Christ? Paul mentioned more than once this faithful Christian couple, thereby showing their effort to carry on the work of the church. There is a strong possibility that the early church would not have experienced the proper growth were if not for this couple. The church depends upon every single member to take as much interest as did Priscilla and Aquila.

I am depending on me (I Tim. 4:16). Timothy was encouraged to live a godly life for two reasons: to save himself and those that heard him. The Christian must first keep his own life in order before he can effectively teach others. Any Christian who does not bring himself under Christ’s control will lose his soul in a fiery hell, separated from God for all eternity. I am the only one that can live my Christian life. No one else will be responsible for my actions in the Judgment.

Christ is coming back (I Thess. 4:13-18)! How great it will be to see Christ returning to take the church home! We should serve Maker because as sure as Christ’s tomb is empty, He will return to take us home!

About dekalbcoc

Local preacher for the DeKalb Church of Christ
This entry was posted in A Preacher's Perspective, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

