The Mechanic and the Preacher

February 17, 2008

by Matt Ritchardson

The following “parable” was written by Leroy Brownlow, who is now deceased…

A mechanic went to hear a visiting evangelist in a little town. The preacher preached that night on money and presented the sermon under three points. First point: “Make all you can.” The mechanic nudged his wife and said, “That man is the best I’ve ever heard. He is no nitwit. He knows what it’s all about. He is one smart man.” Second point: “Save all you can.” “This excited the mechanic and he whispered again, “This beats anything I’ve ever heard. He’s smart enough to be President. This town has never had a preacher that could hold a candle to him.” The preacher commended hard work and thrift, denouncing laziness and waste. The mechanic could not keep quiet. He whispered, “I’ve believed this all my life.” Third point: “Give all you can.” “Oh my,” exclaimed the mechanic, “now he’s gone crazy. He has quit preaching and gone to meddling.”

Thought: Is it not strange that some people’s conception of great preaching is a sermon that compliments them and rebukes others? Remember—your preacher did not write the Bible. He is not responsible for any word in it, but he is definitely responsible for preaching every word in it. And when it is preached, people judge themselves by their reaction to it.

Test: How well do I react to the preaching of God’s word?

1. Do I listen to it in order to grow 2 Peter 3:18?
2. Do I listen and compare to what has been said to what God says about the issue Acts 17:11?
3. Do I use it to become an example to others 1 Timothy 4:12?
4. Do I handle it correctly 2 Corinthians 4:2?
5. Do I study what has been said 2 Timothy 2:15?
6. Do I use it for good Jude 3?
7. Do I use it to make sure I stay on the right path 2 Timothy 1:13; 3:14; 4:2; 2 Thessalonians 2:15?
8. Do I allow it to change my actions, attitudes, and my sinfulness?

 

The preacher has a great responsibility to preach the Truth in love and in its proper context. However as a I hearer…

I have a responsibility to what I hear…
I have a responsibility to react to what I have learned…
I have the responsibility to live by the faithful word that is being taught…
I have the responsibility to know what is being taught is the same message that God delivered once and for all…

How many great lessons have we learned from the Bible and yet we do not apply the lessons learned into our daily routines? Ask yourself this question, Am I guilty of having “ears that are dull of hearing”? Or perhaps do I meditate on the message and allow it to make me a better soldier for the cause of Christ? Points to ponder for your consideration.

 

About dekalbcoc

Local preacher for the DeKalb Church of Christ
This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

